Gryphon Trio, Chamber Music at the Clark

Sunday, April 14, 2024
2:00 pm PDT – 4:00 pm PDT

William Andrews Clark Memorial Library
2520 Cimarron Street

Seats will be available for purchase on Tuesday, March 12 at 12:00 noon, via a link posted here at that time. General admission seats are $40, and UCLA student seats (for UCLA students only, valid UID for each student required) are $10. Purchases are non-refundable. To receive announcements when concert seats go on sale, please sign up for our mailing list.


Seating at the Clark Library is limited, and seats will sell out within a few minutes. You may wish to consider setting your browser ahead of time to fill forms automatically with saved information such as your name, address, and payment details. Find instructions here: Chrome Safari Edge Firefox. Please note, only fields marked with a red asterisk (*) on the form are required. No response is required for Company/Agency, Registration Confirmation #, or Explanation.

A limited number of seats will be available for sale at the Clark Library on the date of the concert. For more information, please see here.


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Piano Trio No. 2 in E Minor, op. 67

Dinuk Wijeratne (1978– )
Love Triangle (2016)

Felix Mendelssohn (1809–1847)
Piano Trio No. 2 in C Minor, op. 66

Gryphon Trio

Annalee Patipatanakoon, violin
Roman Borys, cello
Jamie Parker, piano

Gryphon Trio is firmly established as one of the world’s preeminent piano trios. For more than 25 years, it has earned acclaim for and impressed international audiences with its highly refined, dynamic, and memorable performances. The Trio’s repertoire ranges from traditional to contemporary, and from European classicism to modern-day multimedia. It is committed to redefining chamber music for the 21st century.

Violinist Annalee Patipatanakoon, cellist Roman Borys, and pianist Jamie Parker are creative innovators with an appetite for discovery and new ideas. They have commissioned over 85 new works, and they frequently collaborate with other artists on projects that push the boundaries of Classical music.

The Trio tours regularly throughout North America and Europe. It enjoys longstanding relationships with prominent festivals and arts incubators like Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, Orford Music Academy, Music Toronto, Ottawa Chamberfest, and Festival del Lago International Academy of Music in Ajijic, Mexico. Gryphon Trio often performs triple concerti with the world’s major symphony orchestras and smaller chamber orchestras.

Gryphon Trio’s prolific recording catalogue includes 22 releases on Analekta, Naxos, and other labels; it is an encyclopedia of works for the genre. Honors include 11 nominations and three Juno Awards for Classical Album of the Year in 2004, 2011, and most recently in 2019. In 2013, Canada Council for the Arts presented Gryphon Trio with the prestigious Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts.

The Gryphons are deeply committed to community engagement, education, and the development of next-generation audiences and performers. They conduct masterclasses and workshops at universities and conservatories. They are ensemble-in-residence at the Isabel Bader Centre for Performing Arts in Kingston, Ontario, and artists-in-residence at Trinity College, University of Toronto. Since 2010, the Trio’s ground-breaking outreach program, Listen Up!, has inspired 16 Canadian communities to collaborate on large-scale multifaceted arts creation projects. The Trio leads Orford Music Academy’s Piano Trio Workshop and directs the Classical Music Summer Programs at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

From 2007 to 2020, Roman Borys was Artistic Director of the Ottawa Chamber Music Society; Annalee Patipatanakoon and Jamie Parker served as OCMS’ Artistic Advisors. Mr. Parker is the Rupert E. Edwards Chair in Piano Performance at the University of Toronto Faculty of Music. Ms. Patipatanakoon is Associate Professor of Violin and Performance Area Chair of Strings.

Gryphon Trio is represented in the United States by MKI Artists.

Chamber Music at the Clark
Professor Rogers Brubaker, Artistic Director

Chamber Music at the Clark is made possible by The Ahmanson Foundation, under the auspices of Lee Walcott; The Colburn Foundation; Martha Bardach; Catherine Glynn Benkaim, Ph.D. and Barbara Timmer; Dr. Rogers Brubaker; Dr. Susan Harris and Mark Harris; Judy Hellinger; Henry J. Bruman Endowment for Chamber Music; Dr. Sheldon H. Kardener and Monika Olofsson Kardener; Elaine and Bernie Mendes; Janet Minami; Bette I. and Jeffrey L. Nagin; Dr. Jeanne Robson; Carol E. Sandberg; Charles H. and Carol “Jackie” Schwartz; Dr. Patricia Bates Simun and Mr. Richard V. Simun Memorial Fund; Patricia Waldron, M.D., and Richard Waldron; and Roberta and Robert Young.

Please see here for more information about our chamber music programs.

Photograph credit: Bo Huang, courtesy of the artists.