Chamber Music at the Clark: Ariel Quartet

Sunday, January 31, 2016
2:00 pm PST – 4:00 pm PST

Jan Popper Theater, Schoenberg Music Building
445 Charles E. Young Drive, East

Please note that the Clark Library is closed for renovations.
In 2015–16 all events are being held on UCLA’s main campus.

Chamber Music at the Clark concert seating is determined via lottery. The booking-by-lottery entry form for Ariel Quartet concert seats posts here on Tuesday, November 3, 2015. Lottery registration closes Tuesday, November 24, 2015.

Learn more about the booking-by-lottery system for securing Chamber Music at the Clark seats.

Ariel Quartet

Alexandra Kazovsky, violin
Gershon Gerchikov, violin
Jan Grüning, viola
Amit Even-Tov, cello

Characterized by its youth, brilliant playing, and soulful interpretations, the Ariel Quartet has quickly earned a glowing international reputation. Formed in Israel sixteen years ago, the group has been playing together since they were students. Recently awarded the prestigious Cleveland Quartet Award, the ensemble serves as the faculty quartet-in-residence at the University of Cincinnati’s College-Conservatory of Music. The group performs widely in North America, Europe, and Israel and has won several international prizes, including the Grand Prize at the 2006 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and First Prize at the 2003 international competition, “Franz Schubert and the Music of Modernity.” After winning the Székely Prize for its performance of Bartók—as well as the overall Third Prize at the Banff International String Quartet Competition—the American Record Guide described the Ariel Quartet as “a consummate ensemble gifted with utter musicality and remarkable interpretive power” and called its performance of Beethoven’s Op. 132 “the pinnacle of the competition.”


Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
String Quartet No. 12 in C Minor, D. 703 (“Quartettsatz”)

Alban Berg (1885–1935)
Lyric Suite for String Quartet

Allegro gioviale
Andante amoroso
Allegro mysterioso
Adagio appassionato
Presto delirando
Largo desolato


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet No. 15 in A Minor, op. 132

Assai sostenuto – Allegro
Allegro ma non tanto
Molto adagio
Alla marcia, assai vivace
Allegro appassionato


Booking Form

Bookings are currently closed for this event.