Henry J. Bruman Summer Chamber Music Festival: Aster String Quartet

Tuesday, August 1, 2017
12:00 pm PDT – 1:00 pm PDT

Powell Library Rotunda
10740 Dickson Plaza

Please note that this year’s Henry J. Bruman Summer Chamber Music
Festival will be held at the Powell Library Rotunda on UCLA’s main campus.

Aster String Quartet

Anna Corcoran, violin
Rachel Carpenter Clement, violin
Virginie d’Avezac de Castéra, viola
David Mason, cello


John Cage (1912–1992)
String Quartet in Four Parts

Quietly Flowing Along — Summer
Slowly Rocking — Autumn
Nearly Stationary — Winter
Quodlibet — Spring

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810 (“Death and the Maiden”)

Andante con moto
Scherzo. Allegro molto — Trio


The festival is made possible by the Henry J. Bruman Trust; by a gift from Professors Wendell E. Jeffrey and Bernice M. Wenzel; by a gift in memory of Raymond E. Johnson; and with the support of the UCLA Center for 17th- & 18th-Century Studies and the Powell Library.